The Peasant’s Lament

As I crumple down in dismay,

I watch the rain start to fall,

I give up and feel my life fade away,

And I realize the injustice of it all,

Just because I wasn’t born rich,

And because I cannot afford life,

I will starve and fester in some ditch,

Whilst I cry for my children and wife,

I wept as I strangled my sons,

So they could go without pain,

I lied “It’ll be okay, little ones”

I weep as I recall when I begged for grain,

And I was leered at and kicked and shooed,

But its ok, I’m not a person,

“He’s a mere verminous rat, its not rude,”

And I knew as the rains came it would worsen,

So I sent my family to the afterlife,

Where they could wait for me,

In a state where there’s no hunger and strife,

Whilst from these troubles I flee,

I close my eyes and await the bliss of death,

Now I’m over, I’m spent,

I weep as I take my last breath,

And end this poor peasant’s lament.

16 thoughts on “The Peasant’s Lament

  1. iamfunny2 says:

    A little dark but a great read. Enjoyed it and looking forward to more

  2. The poetry is fantastic. But its heart-rending. Very tragic yet beautifully sad. Great work on weaving these emotions…
    – Maria.

  3. kansamuse says:

    Very powerful!

  4. Moniba says:

    And I knew as the rains came it would worsen,
    So I sent my family to the afterlife,
    Where they could wait for me,
    In a state where there’s no hunger and strife,
    Whilst from these troubles I flee,
    I close my eyes and await the bliss of death

    These lines have made the poem.

  5. Farial Khan says:

    I didn’t like it. 😦

So what did you think?

