Harry Potter Appreciation Post

I am well aware that this is not what I usually write but this is something that needs to be said. Mild spoiler warning.

When most people inquire about my favourite book and I blurt out Harry Potter without a moment’s hesitation, the amount of people who look at me with contemptuous condescension is higher than I care to admit. Now let it be known that I have read everything from Twilight to Coelho and Archer and Larsson and Dan Brown. But those books have never struck me as hard as this heptology has. This is a post that every Potterhead (that is the colloquial term for die-hard Harry Potter fans nowadays) can relate to and a post that every Muggle (non-Potterhead) should read. If I even get ONE person to read this series, I will get the satisfaction of accomplishing something worthy in life as well as the eternal gratitude of that one person.

Now on to the actual appreciation. Although, Harry Potter is a novel that kids are encouraged to read, the meaning of the books matures as you yourself mature. Every time I reread the books, I understand something new in the books. Because in the span between the re-readings I’ve understood something else in life. These books aren’t for any specific age. They are universal. But the meaning each person derives from them depends on the person himself.

Literature is like a piece of cake. The more layers it has, the more delicious it is. -Anonymous

Now Harry Potter has more themes than I can count and more fascinating things about it I can begin to list. But the theme of the books, according to the authoress, isย death. This is because these books were impacted greatly by the authoress’s own anguish at losing family and living in poverty and dependence. Whoever read the books and didn’t understand this point didn’t read the books at all: Harry Potter is not a tale of little kids waving around sticks and learning how to turn rabbits into hats and riding broom-stick. That is just one level to it. Harry Potter is an intricate tale revolving around the constant war between good and evil. It shows the importance of bravery, moral fibre, loyalty, wit, the allure of power and the strength of love and how purity is always stronger than evil. Each and every character represents something. Each death has a meaning. Each event has its purpose. And the characters are so intricate that it eludes belief. For example, how Snape went from being the most despised person to the most loved in the span of one chapter. It is practically unreal.

Now I could sit here and with examples, write down a really long critical appreciation, elaborating the metaphors and the symmetry. Like for example, Remus Lupin is a metaphor for HIV and how all those with it are shunned by society. And how Dumbledore was a representation of gay rights. Or I could shut up and let you experience the magic on your own.

Harry Potter is a story that brings you together. Like whenever I meet someone, the first question I ask them to ascertain their awesomeness is what they feel about Harry Potter. (Ironically, 2/3 of my best friends are Muggles) I’m not saying that being a Potterhead is a sole criterion to awesomeness, I’m saying it is a major contributor.

Harry Potter is a story that stays with you, characters that live with you and deaths that haunt you. Now I would honestly and with every core of my fibre request all Potterheads to add to this and send it on. Because this is a story that deserves to be read. And I request all non-Potterheads to read the stories.

And even when I’m wizened and old, I’ll be sitting somewhere with a HP book in hand, a cold sea breeze playing tantalizingly on my skin. And people will see the book and say: “After all this time?”

I will simply look at them, smile, and whisper.

“Always”

25 thoughts on “Harry Potter Appreciation Post

  1. shreyapunj says:

    I agree with you!
    Harry Potter is my: mood pill, my friend, my life lesson giver, my confidant.
    Every time I read it, I pick up something wiser.
    Claps for the post!
    This was awesome.

  2. shreyapunj says:

    This needs re-blogging.

  3. shreyapunj says:

    Reblogged this on Crossroads and commented:
    Being a BIG Harry Potter fan it was my duty to re-blog this for the betterment of mankind.

  4. poohbauer says:

    This was great! haha I still get weird looks from people who come over to my house and see my full set of Harry Potter books. I read them religiously and waited for each new book with great fervor. I’d read the new one the day I received it even if it meant staying up all night to do so; only to feel sad that I’d already finished the book and had to wait for the next one to come out. The books were my imagination. A different type of book that had me turning the pages with great desire to read the next. A plethora of things I could never have thought of that amazed me as the image was drawn out for me with each description. Great stuff.

    • Thanks.
      The way of how I became a Potterhead was very interesting. Now I had a few versions of this presented to me but after a lot of research, this is the true one. So my cousin accidentally forgot her HP and the Sorcerer’s Stone at my place. I was bored. The book was there. I read it. And mind being blown by awesomeness, the next day, I went to the library, borrowed uptil HP and the Order OTP and read them all. And read Half-Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows when they came out. And everytime I re-read it, it brings tears of nostalgia to my eyes.

  5. And then there’s the third person who is neither a Muggle nor Potterhead, but a “Dipperrydot”- an independent of the two. (Yes, I just made that up, but hopefully, it will still wrangle me in to the “elite” section of Potterheadery, if but on a microscopic level or in the back row of the arena…haha.)

    I do certainly appreciate Rowling’s writing style and creative imagery as well as your own talent of explaining everything in such a way as you have here. You really are a good writer!

    • Thank you so much for the feedback.
      There is actually a whole list of it. Let me show you:
      Pure Blood- Who have read the books and seen the movies.
      Half Blood- Who have just read the books.
      Mudblood- Who have just seen the movies.
      Muggle- Who haven’t seen the movies or read the books.
      Dursley- Those stupid muggles who hate the books/movies.
      Squib- Those wizards who don’t like the books/movies.
      Death Eaters- Purebloods who hate Muggles (especially Dursleys) and Squibs.

      • Haha….wow.
        Well, if a Dursley and a Mudblood got together and had a baby, that’d be me. I guess you could say I’m a Durblood. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The kid in me really enjoys the adventure though- the Hobbit remains one of my all-time faves (animated version), as well as The Dark Crystal. (80’s child!)

      • Oooh that’s not awfully good. You hate the franchise?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      • No, I wouldn’t use the word “hate” for the franchise any more than I would call a muggle “stupid”. (Both are too strong of words to describe my own feelings on it. I can’t think of many things that I actually “hate”.) Just not my cup of tea so much. (Although I have seen the first H. P. movie and thought it was pretty cool.) I appreciate a good writer though, always; I give Rowlings credit there.

      • Did you just casually drop the word ‘Always’ in the comments of a HP Appreciation Post? :’)
        You’d make a fine wizard. And Rowling is one of the most appreciable authors ever, as well as an inspirational person. Hers is a true ‘rags to riches’ tale that doesn’t involve any degradation of her gender. *cough* music industry *cough*

      • Actually, I wouldn’t make a fine wizard at all because I’d end up nuking people (with my finger). I mae a much better Christian because I pray for people instead.

        ๐Ÿ™‚ <<<

        (Yeah, that's a joke.)
        Take care!
        xo

      • Lol I will. You too. Keep checking out my stuff.
        Toodles.

  6. Jeyna Grace says:

    My answers is HP too when asked on my fav book ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. […] Harry Potter Appreciation Post (inthewordsofademon.wordpress.com) […]

  8. Brilliant. I wouldn’t be the person I am today if not for Harry Potter.

So what did you think?

